Don’t Make This Mistake*Part Three

April 20, 2009 at 12:10 | Posted in dog, yorkie poo | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

friedchicken006-main_full

As a first time pet owner, I make my share of mistakes. One of the biggest mistakes or accidents involving my Poo was not done by me but by someone close to me who shall remain nameless, or also known as my roommate!

It was purely an accident, but do not allow anyone to eat a fried chicken breast in your living room and leave it on the coffee table. The second you turn around your Poo will eat it, bones and all.

This was the situation I was faced with around 10 pm on a Saturday night. Do NOT react the way I did, by panicking and crying and hyperventilating unless your Poo is showing signs of pain. If that is the case then they need to be taken immediately to an emergency pet hospital.

So, after a hysterical phone call to my mom at home in New Jersey, I went to the store purchased some bread and milk and tried to save my Poo from his chicken bone fate.

My vet at home recommends dipping bread in milk, and feeding it to your Poo so if or when they try to pass the bones the milk dipped bread will coat the sharp ends of the bones. According to The Fun Times Guide to Dogs, “Cooked rice (that’s completely cooled first) is ideal, because it is gentle on a dog’s stomach and digestive tract. You could serve up a small helping of plain white rice alone, or mix some cooked rice in with your dog’s normal dog food.”

And just in case you were wondering, Otto survived!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] candy coated chocolates are? My roommate. I really shouldn’t be calling her out so much on here (Part Three), but she is a huge helper with taking care of Otto so her mistakes are mine as […]

  2. […] Original post by ilovemypoo […]

  3. Love this blog I’ll be back when I have more time.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

